Umatilla County Sheriff Office
4700 NW Pioneer Place
Pendleton, OR 97801
Be sure your aware of all new boating laws and requirements.
For state boating law information, contact the Oregon State Marine
Go to www.boatoregon.com on the Internet. For federal loating law, visit the U.S. Coast Guard's boating safety website: www.uscgboating.org/
The Umatilla County Marine Patrol Division consists of two seasonal deputies who patrol the Columbia River and McKay Reservoir areas. This is approximately 196 square miles. The Marine Division enforces Oregon boating laws and assists the public by conducting search and rescue operations, hull inspections and by providing safety classes throughout the year. It is funded by the Oregon State Marine Board.
Call Marine Deputy Dave Johnson at 541-969-1912 for questions or to schedule an appointment for a Hull Inspection.
Local Boater Safety
Education classes through Umatilla County Sheriff's Office have
concluded this year however the test is available online at: Boater US org
The Boaters Education Card is NOT a license. The card is a one-time $10 fee. Boater-paid fees go back to boaters in the form of services and facilities such as boat ramps, parking lots, and restrooms.
Operators involved in a boating accident are required by law to stop
their boat immediately at the scene of the accident and:
1. Give assistance to any person injured in the accident2.
Give their name, address and identifying number of their boat
as well as the name and address of any occupants to the other boat's
operator and/or occupants
Witnesses must give their names and addresses to the operator,
or injured person. (Failure to fulfill duties of
operators/witnesses is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up
to $6,250 and/or a penalty of jail up to one year. In accident
causing injury or death, failure is a Class C felony punishable by five
years in jail and/or a $100,000 fine)
* Failure to maintain proper lookout.
* Operator error/misjudgement.
* Falls overboard.
Boat operatos or owners must make a written report of a boating
accident to the State Marine Board when:
1. A person dies, disappears or is injured and receives medical treatment.
2. Damage to property is in excess of $2,000.
The report must be made within 48 hours of the accident in cases involving death, disappearance, or injury, 10 days in accidents involving only property damage. (failure to complete an accident report could result in a fine up to $273). Violations of equipment and operational laws may cause doubling of the fine amount.
Accident report forms are available at the Marine Board, your county sheriff's office and at www.boatoregon.com
Stafford Hansell Building, 915 SE Columbia Ave, Hermiston Oregon
Umatilla County Justice Center, 4700 NW Pioneer Place, Pendleton, Oregon 97801
North County Office, 418 N. Main Street, Milton-Freewater, Oregon 97862